New Zealand
On the banks of the Motueka River...

Guest Reviews

Perfection - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 14 December 2014

We spent three nights with John &Kate Kerr at their outstanding lodge, and cannot say enough about how extrordinary every aspect was! This intimate lodge offers world class luxury blended with a spectacular setting and endless opportunities for outdoor adventure! Our focus was fly fishing and hiking, and both were first rate! We thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to share our gourmet meals with the other guests and came away from Stonefly with some new friends! From start to finish every day at Stonefly was extraordinary! Stonefly Lodge is a rare treasure!

Heavenly escape from reality - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the beginning of February 2014. The first day my husband went fly fishing with a guide and had a fabulous time. It was gloriously sunny and I wandered down amongst the alpacca and goats to the river where I read, painted and went swimming. The second day we walked part of the Abel Tasman coastal path, the pick up point being just 45 minutes away. Lots to do within an hours drive. Nothing was too much trouble for John and Kate. They work incredibly hard to give you a relaxing stay that meets your expectations. The food is amazing. As we are on a 4 week trip it was nice to meet some other people and chat over dinner. I would definitely go back but would want to stay longer!

You have to visit this lodge! - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 November 2012

The Stonefly Lodge is one of the best fly fishing lodges I have ever visited. The setting is spectacular, looking down on the Motueka River. The lodge itself is luxurious. The rooms are warm and inviting and if that weren’t enough, the lodge is energy independent. The food is the best I have ever eaten at a lodge and better than many highly rated restaurants! John and Kate are the consummate hosts. It feels like you are with close friends. Lastly the fishing is superb and the guides are great. What else is there to say? This is the only fishing lodge I have visited that my wife, who does not fish said she wished she had gone with me.

Outstanding ecolodge - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 February 2012

My husband and I return again and again to this outstanding lodge. Even if you don't fish, there is so much to do and see in the immediate area. Kate and John are wonderful hosts. We experienced our "best ever day" of brown trout fishing during our Nov '11 stay. We always meet fun people - some we meet up with every year. The food is outstanding - 5 star. The best raspberry souffle I have ever tasted! We plan to return again next fishing season.

4 wonderful days at stonefly lodge - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 March 2014

Service, beauty, hospitality, fishing, food and quality of overall experience was impeccable. John and Kate could not be any more diligent in providing a wonderful experience. The chef, dean , is as good as any restaurant in states...all in a casual setting. We will definitely return

Excellent Lodge - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 28 February 2014

John and Kate are great hosts, the rooms are warm and cozy and the food is excellent. We fished, visited Abel Tasman and rested playing bridge and reading. The lodge is eco-friendly and very comfortable.

A wonderful find - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 7 May 2012

Stonefly Lodge is a great addition to the New Zealand fishing lodge community. It is superb in every way. The lodge was built with great care and attention to detail , with guest comfort upmost in their planning. The lodge is in a beautiful part of the South Island, but alone in the Nelson area for its level of service and style. John and Kate are wonderful hosts, and Brenda a treasure. It is a true fishing lodge experience with superb style.

Absolutely wonderful - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 25 April 2012

We had very high expectations, and Stonefly Lodge far exceeded every single one. The lodge is beautiful, planned and built with care and great attention to detail. The setting is amazing and breathtaking; the personalised, warm, friendly service from Kate, John and Brenda is wonderful and the food provided by Kate rates up there with the best restaurants we have ever experienced. In fact we tried to pick our favourite dishes from our stay, and we just couldn't. The fishing guides are great, even with complete beginners like us. We can't fault this place.

Tasteful elegance with a personal touch - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 April 2012

John and Kate are fantastic hosts who will stop at nothing to make your stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are clean and cozy and the warm wooden tones will have you dreaming of reeling in large brown trout from the Motueka River. What impressed me most about Stonefly was the incredible attention to detail; John and Kate have designed a lodge that is not only eco-friendly but stunningly beautiful. I have no doubt that as the lodge settles into its surroundings it will become world-renown for its charm, cuisine, calm and character (and the fishing, of course!).

A holiday dreams are made of... - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 15 May 2012

There a holidays... and then there are HOLIDAYS... Our stay at Stonefly was just one of those holidays that we wish could have continued for much longer. The lodge itself, the surroundings, unbelievable (and challenging) fishing, exquisite food, first-class service in all respects and fantastic company, will be etched in our memories for a very, very long time.
I can't recall many other places in the world that I've been, that have exceeded my expectations and made me feel so welcome and relaxed.
Rather than repeat many of the other positive comments on this site about Stonefly Lodge, all I can say is .... 'You have to experience it to believe it....'

Noel and Tina - Australia

Totally in awe of John and Kates determination, skills and professional manner. The scenic helicopter flight and walk through Abel tasman was a real highlight of our 4 week holiday in New Zealand.

Susan & Ken Baker - Arizona

Wonderful time in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Incredible Lodge and people. Thank you for your warmth and hospitality.

Best Lodge for South Island Fly-fishing - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I have been going to NZ to fly-fish every Nov. for the past 6 years. Three years ago we decided to add Stonefly to our itinerary and we have gone back every year since.Kate and John Kerr hand built the lodge as an eco-friendly building and opened 41/2 years ago. It is a labor of love for them and they are perfect hosts. Their chef, Dean, whom we had met at the old Rotoroa Lodge is superb and be sure to ask him to make you some "Afghan" cookies .The lodge sits on the banks of the Motueka River so you have excellent wading right outside your door...if it hasn't rained too much. The helicopter comes to the lodge to whisk you away to some of the most famous fly-fishing rivers in the world. Catching a 4-6 pound brown or rainbow is an everyday experience. Only an hours drive south of Nelson Airport.

Record Brown Trout! - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 15 April 2013

We spent five wonderful days at the beautiful Stonefly lodge and loved everything it had to offer! Being in the resort business I know a great lodge when I see one and this lodge is top notch. John and Kate Kerr were wonderful hosts and they have created a little peace of heaven on the Motueka river. We fished everyday on a different river with a helicopter giving us access not many get to enjoy. Everyday offered a new adventure and a different catch and to top it off we managed to pull in a whopping 10.5 lb Brown Trout. Very good food, accomadation, guides and of course hosts. Thanks again, John and Kate.

Fishing Lodge Excellence - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 20 November 2014

Our November 2014 trip to Stonefly Lodge was our third in five years. We simply love this place and cannot imagine going anywhere else. The accommodations, food, service, and hosts are the best we've experienced. The fishing guides and helicopter pilots are excellent, friendly, and simply fun to spend time with. We came here to fly-fish but there is so much more to do. John and Kate will accommodate a multitude of activity options. You will love every bit of your time spent at this lodge!

A gem for fishermen or any outdoor enthusiast - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 18 November 2014

I recommend this lodge to anyone. I visited it for the first time in November 2014 on the advice of my brother in law, a Wyoming-based fly-fishing guide. It is now my favorite of several lodges I've stayed at over several trips to New Zealand (both north and south island). I am an avid (but not exceptional) fly fisher-woman and love New Zealand. A college roommate and I decided to treat ourselves to a fishing trip. We could not have been more pleased with Stonefly Lodge. The fishing was exceptional, our guide was wonderful, and the Stonefly hosts were outstanding. The food was gourmet and the lodge hosts and atmosphere very welcoming.
In five days of fishing we didn't catch a trout under five pounds and both of us caught several over seven pounds. At our request our hosts arranged for a masseuse for our weary 40-something bodies after the days of fishing, and she was wonderful. We added a final non-fishing day to our trip to enjoy Abel Tasman park. The lodge hosts arranged our tour for us and it was fantastic. I am already planning a return trip to Stonefly Lodge with my husband. For fishermen and non-fishermen like this lodge is a great find.

Father / Daughter - Land O' Giants! - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 23 January 2013

I have fished many places around the World and have stayed in many fantastic lodges, but John and Kate Kerr at Stonefly are at the top of the list. The accomodations are amazing and the food spectacular. We fished 5 days and never saw another fisherman. From the Helicopter, Food, Lodgeing, Music, Pool Games, Chess Matches, Fishing Guide ( Steve ), more food, more fish, large Brown Trout - 5 to 8lbs...scenery, fellowship, location....it is unbeatable. I would reccomend Stonefly to my closest friends , clients and colleagues....without hesuitation. Can't wait to return to the Land O' Giants!!
Mark and Carleigh Latimer aka " Team Latty "

Fishing Lodge Excellence - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 20 November 2014

Our November 2014 trip to Stonefly Lodge was our third in five years. We simply love this place and cannot imagine going anywhere else. The accommodations, food, service, and hosts are the best we've experienced. The fishing guides and helicopter pilots are excellent, friendly, and simply fun to spend time with. We came here to fly-fish but there is so much more to do. John and Kate will accommodate a multitude of activity options. You will love every bit of your time spent at this lodge!

Andrew Cavallo - Australia

First day - 15 fish to land, 15 broken off, 15 more seen! Next day the same! Fantastic friendly environment with wonderful food and hospitality.

Robert Snow - USA

Best fishing experience ever,. Great people, great cooking, lovely home.

Perfect choice! - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 19 January 2013

If you're looking for a fishing lodge with 5-star accommodations, meals that were not only delicious but presented with expertise and love, amazing hosts that make you feel at home and look for ways to make your stay perfect, breath taking views, professional fishing guides for every experience level then look no further, this is it! John and Kate have put their years of experience and their hearts into making this a place you will hate to leave and look forward to returning again and again.

Richard and Sherry Lane - Houston

Service from the heart = 5 stars, extraordinary lodge and wonderful people. Detailscoordinated to the finest degree. Food and fishing over the top.

Don Fergusson - Santa Barbara

Another fabulous stay, my 4th! . Thanks for your warm hospitality, delicious food & wine, and great fishing. See you next year.!

Tasteful elegance with a personal touch - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 April 2012

John and Kate are fantastic hosts who will stop at nothing to make your stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are clean and cozy and the warm wooden tones will have you dreaming of reeling in large brown trout from the Motueka River. What impressed me most about Stonefly was the incredible attention to detail; John and Kate have designed a lodge that is not only eco-friendly but stunningly beautiful. I have no doubt that as the lodge settles into its surroundings it will become world-renown for its charm, cuisine, calm and character (and the fishing, of course!).

Christy & Mike Manchester - Ohio

Your hospitality and warmth and friendliness are beyond compare.And the meals indescribable! This is heaven on earth! Thank you.

David Green - California

What a wonderful time at Stonefly Lodge.! Big fish, fantastic food (thanks to Dean & Kate) lovely guests and great hosts.

Carleigh Latimer - California

Trip of a lifetime! I have never seen trout the size that my dad and I caught! Steve was a fabulous guide! Also,I have never eaten food as good as the breakfast, lunch and 4 course dinners you served us. All around it was a great time. I hope to be back.

Nicola Wilson - UK

Just Amazing! Everything after this will be a dissapointment!

Tim & Diane Bowden - Arizona

Stonefly Lodge and all the fantastic hospitality from everyonehere brought us back to New Zealand for another great experience. Thank you for everything, you are the best, we will be back!

Daniel & Rhonda DiGiusto - California

Best vacation ever! Not sure which was better, the fishing or the food? World class Lodge and wonderful hosts helped make our stay a thing to remember. We will defineately tell all our friends (especially the anglers) that they absolutely must come to this place.

Send for free DVD on Stonefly Lodge

"The most highly accredited Fly Fishing Lodge in New Zealand"

Qualmark Enviro Award
Lodges of New Zealand

Design by STAAH – Developers of Hotel Room Booking Software